Committee of Management

The Railway House is an incorporated association and has a set of rules which guide how it operates. The rules explain the Committee’s role and how it is chosen.  

What is the Committee’s purpose?  

The key roles of the Committee are: 

  • Compliance – checking to make sure the Railway House operates in accordance with legal requirements and its  
  • Finance – monitoring financial reports and deciding how funds should be spent 
  • Performance – supporting the Railway House to perform at its best by approving and monitoring important policies and plans 

How is the Committee chosen? 

At each annual general meeting, the members decide how large the Committee should be and elect the: 

  • president 
  • secretary 
  • treasurer 
  • ordinary members 

Each of these roles has specific responsibilities which are detailed in the rules. All Committee members are volunteers and must comply with the Railway House code of conduct. 

How much work is involved in being a member of the Committee? 

The Committee usually meets once a month. In addition to preparing for the meeting, committee members are also encouraged to support the Railway House by volunteering their expertise to support staff (for example, IT skills), attending events, supporting staff in developing policies and seeking funding and volunteering in programs. 

The Committee has created three subcommittees: 

  • Garden 
  • Finance and Risk
  • Fundraising 

Each of these subcommittees includes at least one member of the Committee of Management as well as other members selected by the Committee of Management. Becoming involved in a subcommittee is another great way to support the Railway House. 

Contact the Railway House if you are interested in joining the Committee of Management or one of the subcommittees. 

2021 – 2022 Committee of Management

Seated L – R: Dianna Walpole (Ordinary Member), Sharon Khoo (Treasurer), Rachel Tuffield (Chairperson), Hannah McVean (Ordinary Member)

Standing L – R: Peter Deutschmann (Ordinary Member), Tony Dalton (Ordinary Member), Jeremy Dixon (Ordinary Member), Trish Sexton (Ordinary Member), Sarah Tutton (Secretary), Pam Tuffield (Ordinary Member)